Love Is Everything It’s Cracked Up to Be

“Love is everything it’s cracked up to be. That’s why people are so cynical about it. It really is worth fighting for, being brave for, risking everything for. And the trouble is, if you don’t risk everything, you risk even more.” – Erica Jong

Meditations in Motion

My husband Bill and I started our run from the local rec center on Monday. We had done a 5K race on Saturday then rested on Sunday, so our legs were fresh. We knew we had only about half an hour before the beginning of the Body Pump class I wanted to attend and we hoped to run at least three miles.

That deadline must have been in our minds, because the pace of our run was more typical of the speedy runs of five years ago, rather than our more sedate current pace. After our quick three-plus-mile run, I did an hour of strength training, then we came home to the mountain of mulch in our driveway.

Every year around this time we have a mulch-tastic mulchfest.  In case you cannot see the sarcasm dripping off these words, let me elaborate: we both detest mulching with a white-hot passion.

And yet, every year we wind up spending thousands of hours (OK, that may be a slight exaggeration) of our beautiful spring days weeding, edging, trimming, and mulching.

I recently talked to a friend who has had enough mulching for one lifetime and now pays someone else to do it for her. Her yard and flower beds are about half the size of ours. “May I ask how much it costs?” I queried. Her response made me much more fond of mulching – over $2,000.

 

Meditations in Motion
This is the best our house and yard will look all year.

 

Maybe it is because we are now both retired and the pressure to complete the mulching extravaganza in one weekend is no longer there, and maybe it is because we are not actually finished with the chore, but mulchfest has actually not been too bad this year.

Usually, our mulching party is punctuated by screaming, tantrums, stomping, threats, and bad words, and that’s just me! This year, Bill and I are working in harmony, taking time to admire our efforts, and even celebrating the end of a good mulching day (if there really is such a thing) with an impromptu happy hour for two, complete with snacks.

I like to think that our more relaxed attitude toward mulchfest is the result of our long history together.

Meditations in MotionEventually, if you are very lucky, you reach a point in a relationship where petty battles just don’t feel like they are worth fighting any longer. You become each other’s protector, champion, and best friend. You ultimately want what is best for your partner and you willingly swallow a big portion of your pride rather than create a disturbance in the harmony that develops.

If you are fortunate enough to be in a relationship with someone who knows you even better than you know yourself and loves you anyway, you will seek out your partner’s hand during the night, and, finding it, feel the peace necessary for you to finally drift off to sleep. Locating that particular hand in the dark is like finding water when you are parched, like air when you are gasping for breath.

There are as many kinds of love as there are people; no two loves are alike. Each species of love matches the unique circumstances of those who love.

The fit of your love may not be perfect at first. You may have to tug, stretch, and wear your love into a shape comfortable for you. It may take years. You may get impatient. Don’t. A well-fitting love is worth the wait.

Meditations in Motion

Love, finally, is best served hot rather than lukewarm. Tepid love is almost as bad as no love at all. Love should make your heart flutter and your eyes dance. To love is to risk everything, to risk your self.

We should be willing to knock over fences, break down doors, and arrive, breathless and panting, eager to give everything for those whom we love. Love takes courage, it takes mettle, pluck and nerve. It is not for the easily intimidated. You must be all in.

When you love, there is always the chance that your heart will get trampled and your ego pummeled, but loving and being loved in return is worth any risk; it is the ultimate reward.

Love, the ultimate reflection of Love, like any reflected light, shines silvery and lambent on a twilight world, hungry for illumination. It makes our days and nights glow with warm radiance.

Love is all-encompassing, all-consuming, and exhilarating, but we must be practical. There are other important items to consider in life besides love. Not every day can be all about love; some days we have to mulch.

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.” 1 Corinthians 13:4-5

 

I am linking up with Fairytales and Fitness for Friday 5, Raisie Bay for Word of the Week, Crystal Twaddell for Fresh Market Friday, Susan B Mead for Dancing With Jesus, Embracing the Unexpected for Grace and Truth, Counting My Blessings for Faith ‘n Friends, Purposeful Faith for RaRa, Shank You Very Much for Dream Team, Mary Geisen Tell His Story, Bethere2day for Wordless Wednesday, and Morgan’s Milieu for Post, Comment, Love.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

80 comments

  1. Yes, the mulching is pricey – I asked here one time for delivery and set up and it was astronomical and that was years ago. You made a wonderful job – that is a lot of mulch to work through – you have my sympathies Laurie.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Thank goodness – now the only problem is you’ll get a chance to recover as to your muscles and have to go through the soreness from hunching over from shoveling into the wheelbarrow or into the garden once again. Years ago I decided to make a marble rock garden at one side of the house – I thought “how difficult could it be to buy the bags of stone and then place them in this garden after putting some small bushes in. My hands ended up claw-like with stiffness for a few days, from grabbing and lugging or hoisting the bag around. And I was much younger then, mid-80s.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I do get sore muscles from mulching. almost everything makes me sore these days. As we have told each other before, it’s not easy getting older! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow – quite an inspired writing about the topic of love – which was a bit different than many tales and love how you integrated the mulchfest
    And side note –
    This is the first year I had the pleasure of doing a few garden things (after two years of doing nada in garden or yard) and so the physical workout and sun time was a gift

    Liked by 1 person

      • Well I regret one project this month – we relocated a rose of Sharon shrub – it is okay if it does not make it in the new spot – but I wanted it gone from where it was – and I thought it would be super easy – but had my hubs help and we did get it out – but in hind site I would not have done that – a lot of twisting and just made me sore and I think I could have pulled something – as opposed to folks who do landscape work all
        The time and they have the body for it and they have bigger tools and all that. So just thanking God I did not pull my back out – whew – and will be much smarter in the future – oh and we had a garden guy when we lived in Florida but it was because the grass/soil there was impossible and he was so affordable – so win win

        Liked by 1 person

      • Those Rose of Sharon are so pretty. I hope your shrub makes it in the new location. We have a huge one outside the window from where I am now typing. We never had a garden guy, but I think we may have to hire some help in the future. Hope your sore muscles feel better soon!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Just yesterday was the first full day of being normal again – felt it in my hips and all over – lol –
        And the rose of Sharon makes new plants easy – not sure if you tried with any of your seeds – but I have gifted many seeds and starter plants over the years – really easy to get new ones going
        And right now – our neighbor’s landscape company does “small”
        Jobs for us for minimal fee –
        It all started where I offered the owner the leftover apples – for his horses – and we made a friend (god appointment)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Unfortunately, it is too easy to get small rose of sharon plants started. When our shrub flowers, we get tiny shoots coming up all over the place. I pull them out by the dozens. I should save some and replant them or give them away!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Indeed, love is what makes the world turn. My wife and I will celebrate 57 years next month. The last four she has suffered with Alzheimer’s. We are still fighting it one day at a time. Enjoying the good days, tolerating these not so good.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, how wonderful, Scott! Happy anniversary to you and your wife. I am so sorry to read that she is suffering with Alzheimer’s. She has you to fight the fight with her. Bless you!

      Like

  4. Yep. My recent health issues have shown me how much I’m loved. He’s not a demonstrative guy and needy people wouldn’t get what they want from him. But he always surprises me with his quiet thoughtfulness and concern. And then there are those times where he makes me crazy…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sounds like you have a great guy supporting you! Congratulations, Wendy. That’s the best kind of guy to have! And…they all make us crazy at times! 🙂

      Like

  5. I’m not sure how you got from mulch to love, a comparison seems far fetched. But your last paragraph explains it all and I think your description of love is perfect, it’s not an easy ride but it’s well worth the trip. Thank you for linking up to Word of the Week and being one of my Wowers this week x #wotw

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I don’t mulch, but we do have manure or compost days, to improve the soil. Whole family joins in to shift the mountain. Next time, I’m going to share how much we could be saving. Nothing like a homestead task to bond over. Love maybe, but certainly a sense of satisfaction beside the aching limbs. #wotw

    Liked by 1 person

    • We sometimes do mushroom mulch, which is kind of like a mulch/compost mixture. My kids are all scattered, so no one here to do it but hubby and me. 🙂

      Like

    • It IS a great place to be. I think the kids must leave the nest (or at least be looking at the door) to get there. That’s how it was for us, anyway! You have a good weekend too!

      Like

  7. Glad mulchfest wasn’t quite so arduous this year! I love your reflections on love, especially your last thought that some days you have to mulch, which made me smile. So very true! It really is such a wonderful thing and having a strong loving relationship with someone is a huge blessing. It can take a lot of hard work to build that kind of relationship but it really is worth every bit of effort. #WotW

    Liked by 1 person

    • We have had several days of rain when we could not work outside, so mulchfest continues! 🙂 Yes, building a strong relationship is worth all of the effort and tears.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Laurie,
    Working together on a task brings us closer if we are committed to a common purpose. I like mulchtastic. Love is an action. You have to be willing to get dirty and uncomfortable.“The fit of your love may not be perfect at first. You may have to tug, stretch, and wear your love into a shape comfortable for you. It may take years. You may get impatient. Don’t. A well-fitting love is worth the wait.” – This is my experience as well.
    💜

    Liked by 1 person

  9. This just choked me up… I’ve been married 24 years this year – with him for 27… you make me want to go home & walk with him, holding his hand 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. So many kinds of love. So many struggles with love. It seems like loving should be so simple, but it rarely is, right?

    I’m also laughing at your 3+ miles in half an hour. I wish I could do that, but I do find when I need to be somewhere suddenly a little extra speed arrives. I wish I could trick myself into feeling that way!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, building a long-term relationship is hardly ever simple. There are bumps in the road for sure! There were for me, anyway.

      I can’t take credit for our pace. I was just following Bill that day, trying to hang on as bestas I could! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • I do like my exercise, that is true! We had several days of rain, so the mulching continues. We still have about half the mountain left in our driveway! Thank you!

      Like

  11. Simply fabulous. What a beautiful piece writing that I wish you would submit to some writing publication!

    Gorgeous. I loved this line:

    ‘Love, the ultimate reflection of Love, like any reflected light, shines silvery and lambent on a twilight world, hungry for illumination. It makes our days and nights glow with warm radiance.”

    Exquisite.

    (and I learned a new word… lambent! how have I missed that all of my 65 years??)

    Now I was all ready to start balling my eyes out when all of a sudden I laughed out loud —

    ” Not every day can be all about love; some days we have to mulch.”

    I find myself (as I age) much more patient with my husband with whom I have been with almost 40 years. I find myself saying as I give him a hug, “I’m sorry.” and “Life is too short.”

    And then we bicker about who’s going to pick up the leaves in the pool, ha ha.

    Your east coast home is just beautiful! It radiates love and caring.

    xxoo
    Susan Grace

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your very kind comment, Susan! You made my day. My hubby and I celebrated our 40th last year, and there are days we bicker too. 🙂

      Like

  12. So many great thoughts here 😉 My hubby and I have much in common, but we are kind of ying/yang as well. Yard work is stressful if the two of us are working at the same time. I’m the artsy one, he’s the logical one (think whimsical & curvy vs. symmetrical and thoroughly mapped out).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Same here! I often feel like Bill and I are yin and yang. Over the years, we have learned to pick our battles, though. We usually only bicker when one of us is “hangry”! 🙂

      Like

  13. I may be stealing sections of this post when my son gets married next summer, like this passage: “The fit of your love may not be perfect at first. You may have to tug, stretch, and wear your love into a shape comfortable for you. It may take years. You may get impatient. Don’t. A well-fitting love is worth the wait.” Perfect words for newlyweds, IMO.
    And your house and garden look absolutely lovely, and just think: $2,000 you can spend on running shoes instead 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Jan. It’s basically what I say to my kids (if they ever ask me) about relationships and partners. The important thing is to remember to be kind, rather than right. That’s what I keep telling myself, anyway! 🙂

      I’m going to try your logic on my hubby to see if I can go buy a new pair of running shoes. I NEED more!

      Like

  14. Such beautiful words, we have been married 25 years this year so I totally get it, although i think i would have said that at two years too! I don’t think I have ever mulched, hubby tends to look after the garden its not my favourite job. your house looks so pretty too xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  15. This year my husband and I will be celebrating 30 years together, 27 of those married. I love him more now, than I ever have! I agree with you about tepid love, my husband still makes my heart flutter. As for the mulching…….I’ll leave you to that lol x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Happy anniversary! So nice to have such a long shared history. I agree about the mulching – I wouldn’t do it if you don’t have to! 🙂

      Like

    • Thank you so much, Angela! I have had a reprieve from mulching because it has rained for the last few days, but there is still a mountain in our driveway!

      Like

  16. love the term “mulchfest” – I didn’t realise you were being sarcastic to start with as i have a friend who’s favourite time of year is “horse poo time of year” where she goes and collects manure from the local farmyard and puts in on her allotment and she really loves doing it!

    I imagine it is one of those jobs where it is really satisfying once it is done though – and think of the money you’ve saved by doing it yourselves! #wotw

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, yuck! I am not a gardener by choice. Mulching is my least favorite outdoor job. Yes, I’m too cheap to pay someone else to do it! 🙂

      Like

  17. Another beautiful, thought-provoking post – love really is the basis of life whether it’s parent-child, romantic, or agape for people in general. Thanks for another good one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment