What Kindness Is Written on the Tablet of Your Heart?

Meditations in Motion

As I was running down the sidewalk on Main Street one day this week, I approached a moving truck, which was parked outside an apartment building. Two men were carrying a heavy chest of drawers across the walk to the truck. They were directly in my path. As I slowed to allow them to pass, they motioned for me to keep going. “No,” I said “that is heavy. You guys go.” They insisted I continue. One man told me “We don’t want to slow you down.” I smiled, thanked them and continued, but I thought about that small act of kindness for the next few miles.

It made me think of all the times I have been the recipient of acts of kindness, both large and small. I don’t think that there is a balance sheet being kept, but I wonder if I have been on the receiving end of kindness more than I have been the giver. I may have some catching up to do.

Meditations in Motion

There is a diner that my hubby Bill and I like to go to for breakfast on the weekends after our long run. The waitresses are efficient and pleasant. The coffee is good and the food is tasty, especially the potatoes. These are shredded rather than sliced, a mound of crispy brown deliciousness beside your eggs. Slather them with hot sauce, and you have a breakfast made in heaven!

One Saturday morning not too long ago, we noticed an older man eating breakfast with a younger woman, possibly his daughter. The man looked a little bit unsteady, and the young woman was helping him with his breakfast. He was wearing a ball cap that identified him as a Viet Nam Veteran. When our waitress came over to give us our check, Bill asked for their check too and requested that we remain anonymous. We paid both checks and left the diner before the couple finished breakfast.

This act of kindness did not surprise me. My hubby is a good guy, generous and compassionate. His kindness is spontaneous, not premeditated.

Meditations in Motion

One of the things that amazed me when I first started writing this blog (only 5 months ago) was the kindness of other bloggers I have encountered. When I first started posting, I didn’t know what I was doing at all. I joined a blogging group on Facebook and asked all kinds of questions, which experienced bloggers answered patiently and with kindness.

I nervously opened a Twitter account and a Facebook page to connect with other runners and bloggers. I had heard the horror stories about the negativity rampant on social media and was hesitant to get involved. To my amazement, 99.9% of all the people I came in contact with were encouraging, positive and kind. A typical exchange on a runner’s Twitter account goes something like this:

Runner A: I ran 5 miles this morning.

Runner B: Awesome! You are a rock star!

Runner C: Way to go!

Runner D: Congrats!

The only thing missing from this sample conversation is the emojis.

Meditations in Motion

I hear in the media about self-involved, egocentric teenagers, but in my 30+ years of teaching, that was generally not my experience. Sure, there were some issues. I had to step in a few times to prevent bullying, and kids are definitely now absorbed with their phones, but the majority of students I came in contact with were altruistic and kind. I once had a boy in class with Tourette’s syndrome. The other students not only ignored his outbursts and tics and treated him just like any other student, the prettiest, most popular girl in class picked him to be her lab partner so she could help him with his work.

Meditations in Motion

All major religions advocate kindness.  The Bhagavad Gita, a sacred Hindu text, states “When a person responds to the joys and sorrows of others as if they were his own, he has attained the highest state of spiritual union.

The Christian Bible tells us to write kindness and truth on the tablet of our heart. “Do not let kindness and truth leave you; Bind them around your neck, Write them on the tablet of your heart.

The Dalai Lama provides many wonderful quotes, but perhaps my favorite is a simple one about kindness. “Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible.

flora-1839558_640.jpg

Kindness is always possible.

  • Smile at a stranger and say “Good morning.”
  • Send a positive text to a friend.
  • Donate old towels or blankets to an animal shelter.
  • Write a positive comment on a blog or social media account.
  • Pay for coffee for the person behind you in line.
  • Contact a favorite teacher to tell him/her how much you appreciated them.
  • Compliment a parent on a child’s good behavior.
  • Buy some food for a homeless person.
  • Be kind to yourself.

What kindness is written on the tablet of your heart?

 

I am linking up with Patty, Erika and Marcia for Tuesdays on the Run. Love these running-related blogs! I am linking up with Shank You Very Much for her Dream Team link up. I am linking up with Holley Gerth for Coffee for Your Heart. I am linking up with Eclectic Evelyn for her Words on Wednesday link up. I am linking up with Debbie at Dare 2 Hear. Check out the inspirational posts on her Tune in Thursdays. I am linking with Random-osity for Little Things Thursdays link up. I am linking up with Penny’s Passion for Thinking Out Loud Thursday. I am linking up with Jessica and Amy at Live Life Well. If you like this post, you may want to visit to read what other bloggers have to say! I am linking up with Anna Nuttall for her Bloggers Link Up. I am linking up with Jamie Sumner for Sunday Thoughts. Visit here for faith-based posts from many other bloggers.

 

 

 

 

46 comments

  1. We’ve been told (and it is true) that only by Jesus Christ can we be transformed and given a new heart so we can begin to truly love our neighbours as ourselves. Thanks for sharing. Blessings to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful post, Laurie! The world is filled with people expressing acts of kindness every day, but those actions are so often drowned out by the constant emphasis on what creates the most noise. Your post is a great reminder to not only pay attention to the kindness around us, but also to make sure we are always, ourselves, showing kindness to others.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love complimenting other women on their clothes (no matter their size). No one ever gets annoyed when I do that. 🙂

    And I must say all my nieces and nephews (while definitely overly attached to their phones) are good people. I don’t even really know them all that well, we didn’t live close to any of them while they were growing up, but it’s easy to see.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is such a nice post, Laurie. How kind of the furniture movers to allow you to pass even though they were carrying a heavy piece of furniture. I suspect you have been on the giving end of kindness just as much as the receiving end.

    Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It really is the little things, isn’t it? I work in healthcare and people aren’t always so nice. When they are, it is so meaningful and can carry you for the rest of the day. Beautiful post. You’ve added such a nice element to our little run blogger community!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Amen sister! Much of society’s focus seems to be on the negative things going on around us when in fact an overwhelming percentage of the population is inherently kind. My 16 yr old took it upon herself to volunteer as a camp counselor for handicapped and disadvantaged kids this summer. I’m so proud of her.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. There are so many ways to do good in this world. Social media is certainly a place where people complain and say nasty things, but get away from that, there’s so much positive out there. People want to make a difference.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes! There are so many ways to do good. I could have written a list of 100 things, but didn’t want the post to be too long. Thanks for the comment! 🙂

      Like

  8. I love this. Absolutely love it. I try to put kindness out there too because there are also days when I stop and think of those little things, those little gestures that seem innocuous and unimportant at the time but really add up.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Like you, I do feel as if I have been on the receiving end of so much kindness and may have some catching up to do. Thanks for this reminder which resonates a bit with an Elisabeth Elliot quote I’m fond of: “It is always possible to do the will of God.” And since kindness falls into one of my favorite biblical lists of things with which to “clothe ourselves,” kindness is definitely the will of God!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I too have been on the receiving end of so much kindness. I can honestly say, I’m not sure I’ve given as much as I’ve received either. I could blame it on being a major introvert, but God has been showing me over the last year just how important relationships are to him. Those small acts of kindness to a stranger may not build a relationship, but it does create a connection and the little things can mean so much! Thanks for sharing with us at #LiveLifeWell. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think even introverts need a network of relationships. Kindness, whether it is toward a stranger, family member or friend, is contagious – just like a yawn! Thank you for the opportunity to share.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Kindness is such a beautiful thing, isn’t it? My favorite kind thing to do is just to smile at others. A single smile can do so much for someones day I think.

    Thank you for linking up @LiveLifeWell

    Blessings,

    Amy

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I have to admit that my eyes were starting to sweat when I read about your husband paying for the other folks’ meal. What a wonderful thing to do.

    Your whole post was just SO amazing. It filled me with the want to be kind. Extraordinary job.

    The whole who goes first on the road thing can be pretty funny. I usually try and usher others to go first, because I am not in a hurry (most of the time, at least), and I presume they are. Sometimes we keep waving at one another a couple of times before we realize we are holding other people up, so one of us has to give in and go. It’s amusing in a way.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I love this. It’s so important to be kind. I think it is one of the very most important things one can be. It is the the most important thing I wanted to teach my children when they were growing up. Kindness. Kindness and love is where everything of value flows from.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment