The Gift Of Telling Stories

 “One of the greatest gifts we can give our children is the ability to tell stories” – Rachel Held Evans

When I was young, my parents read to me every night before bedtime. I learned, of course, to love books through this practice.

Sometimes, rather than reading from a book, I begged my mother to tell me a story she made up on the spot.

These narratives usually fell into one of two categories. The first category included tales of princesses and dragons. The princess typically had many of the same attributes as the audience (me) and the dragon invariably turned out to be a good dragon. I was more interested in a dragon as a pet than a foe.

The second category included vignettes from my mother’s childhood.

Mom often talked about her first-grade teacher, who was kind and beautiful. I pictured her as Princess Glinda. She would ruffle her students’ hair or give them little back rubs to show how much she loved them.

Mom also described her second-grade teacher, who was gruff and stern. One day, mom piled a big stack of books on her desk in anticipation of the 3:00 dismissal bell. The stack toppled over and landed on the floor with a crash. Her teacher looked at Mom and shook her head. “I knew that would happen,” she sighed.

Looking back on those stories, I now realize they all conveyed a message.

The princess and dragon stories inspired me to be brave. Through courageous acts, dragons can be conquered and turned into friends. 

The school stories taught me that I would encounter many different types of people. Some would dispense head shakes and eye rolls. Some would give back rubs. It was up to me to adapt.

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

Stories are how we make sense of our lives and the world.

John Steinbeck knew this when he wrote the classic The Grapes of Wrath. Humanizing the plight of thousands of farmers displaced by the Dust Bowl of the 1930s had a significant impact on readers. Describing the Joad family’s struggles to stay alive was more effective at eliciting sympathy for impoverished “Oakies” than quoting pages of statistics.

In sub-Saharan Africa, 28 million children currently suffer from malnutrition.

Most people read that statistic and shake their heads, thinking, “What a shame!

But telling the story of one family makes the devastation of hunger real and gives the tragedy a face and a name.

Hauwa and her five children fled their prosperous farm one February afternoon to escape an impending raid by Boko Haram.

Taking nothing with them except the clothes on their backs, the family fled in an instant. They began walking north in a circuitous route through the wilderness to avoid detection.

Hungry, thirsty, and tired, they trekked for days, passing bodies of people who had succumbed to starvation before eventually reaching the city of Damboa in Nigeria.

Here, they subsist on handouts from aid organizations and worry about where to find their next meal.

You are employed by an organization soliciting donations for the hungry in Africa. Will you tell the story of 28 million children, or will you tell Hauwa’s story?

Image by Gordon Johnson from Pixabay

God as a concept is so vast it is hard to comprehend.

We say that God’s love and grace are endless. He is all-knowing and all-powerful. He is immanent and transcendent.

You are tasked with relating the essence of God to the human race. How do you convey something so expansive, immeasurable, and limitless? How do you make God real? How do you make him meaningful?

You tell stories, of course.

To show how each individual is valuable to God, you tell the Parable of the Lost Sheep. To illustrate God’s command to love each other, you tell the Parable of the Good Samaritan. To demonstrate the need for tenacity and perseverance in seeking God, you tell the Parable of the Perseverant Widow.

You tell stories about great banquets, lost coins, forgiven debts, mustard seeds, and baking bread. You give accounts of using new cloth in an old coat, of wise and foolish builders, and of a friend who knocks on your door at midnight.

That is what Jesus did. He told stories.

This is how you make God real to people. This is the way to bring the Kingdom of God right here to surround us and make it relevant. It is our method of comprehending the incomprehensible.

This is the way God ruffles our hair and gives us a back rub to show his love.

He gives us stories.

And we, in turn, give stories to others. They are a way of showing our love.

You can find the places I link up here.

 

 

 

 

100 comments

  1. Love this post. It reminded me of a little boy that used to be in daycare and usually refused to take a nap. He would want me to tell him a story. I didn’t feel like I had a very good imagination, but he seemed to enjoy them. Sometimes, I would tell the story of a little boy who was on the ocean in a small boat that drifted and swayed back and forth in my most soothing voice, trying to put him to sleep. Sometimes it worked and sometimes not. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m a storyteller who appreciates anyone who can tell a good tale. ‘Tis easier to influence someone to do the right thing with a good story than with rigid rules. At least it has been in my experience.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Stories are of ultimate importance in all of our lives, Laurie. I’ve always known why Jesus used stories – we’ll forget the stats, but we will always remember the tale. Blessings, and keep sharing your stories with us!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I did not see where this post was going! Your mom’s story telling rubbed off on you, Laurie, and I can also see how she shaped the teacher you became.

    Although my parents instilled a love of reading, I have no memories of being read to or of being told night time stories. Weird, huh? Did it happen and I just don’t remember it? I guess I need to ask my siblings!

    Your point about how telling one person’s/family’s story can make it seem real (or even doable, depending on the tale) is so spot on. I’m not really the greatest story teller though! I didn’t get that gene from my Dad, who was a great public speaker — I think it went to my brother, the litigator.

    I can relate to the story you relate here. My grandmother left Russia as barely a teenager, going to an Uncle in England who had already moved to what was then Palestine. So she arrived, with no English, and no relatives. I can’t even imagine what that could possibly have felt like. She was a tough woman, as is my mom — I’m pretty strong, but I don’t think I’m that strong!j

    Thanks for telling your stories today & making me think.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Judy. My mom was a teacher too. I hope I did learn from her. My family definitely valued the stories we told. Mom and Dad were both great storytellers. I think every family has their own stories that get passed around. Your family’s story is amazing! Such an integral part of history. I think you are an amazing storyteller!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Laurie – a really interesting post and you’re right – story telling is the essence of how we pass difficult concepts on in an understandable way. The parables in the bible are excellent examples of this – and so are the family stories that Aid Agencies use (they worked for us – we sponsor 2 children due to those stories!)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. My love of reading stems from being read to and reading a lot as a child. My godson used to love me making up stories to tell him but I wasn’t very creative and mostly just borrowed from popular fairytales or stories and changed the animals or the names or something!

    Liked by 1 person

    • We used to read to all of our kids when they were little. 2 of them are voracious readers. The other one…not so much. I bet your godson will remember your stories for the rest of his life. What a wonderful gift you gave him!

      Like

  7. This reminded me of the children’s bible that I read to my sons every night when they were young. You put it so well – that to know God we need to listen to the stories that Jesus told. So true. Regards, Christina

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Teaching with parables is an ancient Jewish practice and one that works even today. Tell the story of individuals – yes I agree we must hear a person’s story not the numbers. #MMBC

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I agree, stories are such a powerful way of communicating truth. I was interested to learn a few years ago about how our brains respond when we hear stories. When we hear information, it is just the parts of the brain connected with information processing that respond, but when we hear stories parts of our brain connected with emotions, sights, smells etc. respond as if we are there actually experiencing it! No wonder stories make it so much more memorable.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I’m trying to get better at making up stories on the spot for my grandkids. There’s just something magical about how they’ll stop what they’re doing when I say the words, “Let me tell you a story!”

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Stories are a gift of love. They communicate so many things to us and teach us so many things. I think stories are one of my favorite ways of learning. I recently learned that learning from stories is called Bibliotherapy.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. “My father used to say that stories are part of the most precious heritage of mankind.” said Tahir Shah (In Arabian Nights)
    Stories are such a part of our history and we must pass this on to the next generation. It’s their right and our duty

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Stories are so important. It’s easy to get lost in statistics and forget the human beings behind the numbers – telling stories helps capture our attention. I can see why Jesus told so many of them – it makes it easier for our human brains to get a little closer to God and to try and understand. #MMBC

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I love this post! I love that you are telling a story about your mom and yourself and about storytelling and God. I wrote a short script for a class for my DMin, based on my theory that there will be a story hour in heaven and we will get to hear from lots of people we have read about, but we will hear bits of The Rest of the Story (Paul Harvey), but they will all be part of a Never Ending Story. Best and blessings, Michele

    Liked by 1 person

  15. You are a beautiful, sweet soul who motivates me to be better. My daughters grew up on a hardy dose of storytelling from my colorful mother. I loved reading picture books even to my upper grade students for the stories and morals they imparted. And this post reminds me that my daughters both used their allowances to adopt children from South America for a time. I should look into doing that again. We are so blessed. It is wonderful to be able to be a blessing to others.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Teaching, mothers, grandmothers, story tellers. I actually loved telling stories to little kids…and know that they were appreciated. You and your Mum…stories come with ease don’t they when we have grown up with them and around them. When I get the chance to see our now much older grandkids, I love sharing the stories of their times with us when they were little.

    Thank you for linking up for Life This Week. Next week, the optional prompt is Interesting. My post will be a continuation of Telling My Story as I am wanting to wrap the series up. It’s great to have your blogging support on my link up. Thank you. Denyse

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I LOVED this post ,Laurie! The funny thing is that stories are enjoyed both by the listener and the narrator. There is that moment when the one telling the story knows the listener has grabbed hold of the point and it makes all the difference in why we tell the story. Wonderful post!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Laurie, such a delight to read this post! I love reading and telling stories! I remember years ago while in training for the mission field the pastor teaching a particular class told us the bible was nothing more than God’s picture story book. That God used stories to convey important truths, and that would serve us well on the foreign field and so it did.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I always liked listening to stories … my mom was a stay-at-home mom so she I learned a lot from her in those years before I started school. There were stories to be told, books to be read to me, lessons to be learned … I was eager to listen and learn. You can gain a wealth of information from reading and then sharing what you learn with others. I wish I had more time to read and learn. It is too bad people feel that at the end of their formal education, the learning is done.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Stories fuel imagination, which is something in short supply in our electronic age. So many of the small children that first come to school (at my primary building) don’t have good imaginations. They want a computer or tablet to entertain them, without thinking. We need more stories!! Thanks for linking up and have a blessed weekend! BTW, my daughter finished her first marathon. She was over the moon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are so right, Michelle. Kids (and adults) do need to activate our creativity/imagination “muscles” now and then. Congrats to your daughter! Running her first marathon is a big accomplishment. She should be proud!

      Like

  21. At the first writer’s conference I went to, one workshop leader stressed that even nonfiction writers need to employ fiction for exactly the reason you stated. We might gain from facts and figures, but stories grab us. Sometimes in a sermon, the “aha” moment comes when the speaker shares an illustration about the truth he’s trying to convey.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Stories can be a powerful carrier for truth. This is why many of Jesus’ truths came on the carrier of a parable/ story.
    Have you ever noticed that even if your mind wanders during a sermon that the moment the preacher starts a story to illustrate a point, your attention snaps back to paying attention?
    Stories work because we are wired for them.
    Blessings

    Liked by 1 person

    • Many times the best way to get your point across is a story, as I am sure you know, Gary. You are a talented storyteller. And I have noticed a story in a sermon gets your attention back. I used that trick when I was teaching too! 🙂

      Like

      • Hi Laurie and thanks for the kind feedback. Story telling is a passion and it’s such a treat (perhaps not as good as a Greek Treat but still…) when someone likes your work.
        Also, I am so not-shocked that you both know and have used the attention getting power of a well placed and used Story.
        Thanks for spending some time with mine.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment