February Coffee Talk

It’s the first week of February. That means it’s time to get a cup of our favorite hot beverage, pull up a virtual chair, and talk about what is on our minds. I have three things to talk about today over hot black decaf.

Lovefeast

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that the Moravians in our town really know how to celebrate communion.

Each year at Christmas time (and a few other times throughout the year), rather than using bread and wine to represent the body and blood of Christ, Moravians use Moravian Sugar Cake and coffee (or chocolate milk). They call this celebration a Lovefeast.

Last Christmas Eve, some members of our family participated in a Lovefeast.

My daughter-in-law, who is not from the area, was charmed by the service, which includes singing, candlelight, and, of course, the special communion.

This year she and my son, who live 3,000 miles away, attempted to recreate a Lovefeast in Oregon  to share with her family.

My son is an accomplished baker. Armed with his great-grandmother’s rather sketchy 100-year-old recipe for Moravian Sugar Cake, he set out to make the sweet treat. Because they both are vegetarians, he replaced the lard called for in the recipe with butter, but the sugar cake turned out beautifully.

My son, a tea drinker, even had coffee for the celebration.

 

Handwriting Analysis

This is a photo of my youngest grandson’s letter to Santa. He is five years old.

As a grandmother, I am amazed by his neat handwriting, which is already better than his father’s. (And mine. No, really.)

When his father was in second grade, his teacher called me and told me she thought he should participate in “special” phys ed classes.

Apparently, she noticed that when he wrote in his workbooks on the left-hand page, he would write with his left hand. On the right-hand page, he would switch the pencil over to his right hand. Both sets of handwriting looked equally bad.

She believed these phys ed classes would help him pick a dominant hand that he would use to write with all the time, and the quality of his handwriting would improve. My son eventually selected his right hand to write with (he does everything else left-handed), but his handwriting never improved.

Little did she know the truth: he inherited his terrible handwriting from his mother. Thank goodness my grandson didn’t continue this trend.

The Perfect Sweet Treat

At Christmastime, one of my friends gave me a jar of dried apple slices. She made them in her food dehydrator. I had never eaten them before. I popped one into my mouth and was amazed at the intense burst of sweet-tart flavor.

I have written before about my no-added-sugar diet designed to lower cholesterol. I miss having something sweet after meals. These apple slices, made from Honeycrisp apples, provided just the perfect sweet bite for an after-dinner snack.

I don’t have a food dehydrator, so I tried to make them in the oven. The best way I found was to first slice an apple as thinly as possible. Next, line a baking pan with a sheet of parchment paper, bake the slices for 70 minutes at 225 degrees F, flip them over, then bake another 70 minutes.

I now snack on dried apple slices all day long.

Thank you for joining me for coffee and conversation. I hope to see you again for our March Coffee Date.

You can find the places I link up here.

147 comments

  1. Your grandson’s handwriting is almost as beautiful as the content of that letter! Interesting story about your son- I wonder if he was really meant to write with his left hand all along?
    i have a dehydrator, but as you pointed out they take up a lot of space. Mine now lives (sadly) in the garage. I like the idea of making dried apples in the oven though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Jenny. He is a sensitive and kind little guy! I kind of wish I would just have allowed him to write with both hands. I think he is a natural lefty. One of my grandsons (but not his son – one of my other boys’ oldest) is also a lefty.

      Like

  2. Thank you for the lovely idea of drying apples, I haven’t done that in a really long time. I was considering investing in a food dehydrator last fall, but decided to wait a little, it’s such a big investment. An investment I do want to make in the future, when my harvest of fruit and vegetables are big enough to justify it 🙂 I might try drying the apples in the oven today though. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love the dried apples. They are the perfect snack! A dehydrator would take up a bunch of counter space in my kitchen that I don’t necessarily want to give up!

      Like

  3. Hi Laurie,
    Your son’s battles with his handwriting are very famlliar. My handwriting wasn’t the best either. However, our son had a lot of difficulties. So, I took him along to see an Occupational Therapist. She was so clever. She broke the writing down into blue above the ground, green on the ground and brown underground. He coordination was also a bit out of whack and he spent some time in a swing chair. I’m really glad we intervened. It hasn’t given him perfect handwriting and he doesn’t always fly under the radar,. However, much of the time he does. He’s grappling with his last year of school atm and wanting to leave, anxiety, courses,but he’s doing sound at our Church and is very professional. He’s certainly found his niche. Just need to find a pathway to where he wants to go and skill him up with the back end of life so he succeeds. That isn’t easy for most of us, but we’ve got his back and he has multiple layers of community involvement.
    I’m curious about this Moravian Sugar Cake and will Google a recipe.
    Hope you have a great week!
    Best wishes,
    Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    • I sympathize with your son. It must be very tough to complete your last year of school under these conditions. I am glad he has found his niche. A lot of young people don’t find a place to fit in by the time they graduate. Good for you for being supportive! I hope you find a good Moravian Sugar Cake recipe. You have a great week too!

      Like

  4. I love the sound of the Lovefeast. I’ve not heard of it before. What a great idea.
    Your grandson really does have neat handwriting. I am a bad handwriter but thankfully my girls haven’t copied me.
    The apple slices sound delicious x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a nice letter Atti wrote to Santa Claus. You were one proud Mimi when you saw that I am sure. The apple slices look good. I follow a blogger who writes a cooking blog (even I never make her creations, I like reading what she makes) and she uses her dehydrator a lot, but she also has a big garden and grows herbs so she uses it for that as well. I’ll be the kitchen smells nice when you are making apple slices.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was one proud Mimi when I saw Atti’s letter to Santa. My own boys all have terrible handwriting. It looks like a dyslexic third grader’s. And I apologize to people with dyslexia and to third-graders. I would love to have a dehydrator for herbs too, but I don’t want to give up the counter space. I just wind up tying my herbs in a bunch and hanging them to dry over time. The kitchen smells heavenly when the apple slices are cooking. I just made more today.

      Liked by 1 person

      • You should be proud Laurie. That’s not only nice handwriting, but heartwarming. My boss is dyslexic and also left-handed. I’ve been dealing with his penmanship for twenty years and it is not easy even after all these years. Apples slices baking would smell great and have you hankering for apple pie.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I used to have nice penmanship until I worked at the diner and would write a customer’s bill out – most of the time I memorized their meals since it was usually the same everyday, but still had to make a receipt. I got sloppy with my writing then. Illegible handwriting makes for a very long workday for me – my boss’ handwriting may be worse than your son’s!

        Liked by 1 person

      • My handwriting was never very good. When I worked as a waitress and had to write fast, it was even worse! Isn’t it funny how customers have their “regular” meals and drinks?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Same here. I write about 1 or 2 paper checks a year. Everything else gets paid electronically. I do handwrite my grocery lists, but I am the only person who has to read them!

        Liked by 1 person

      • And when I write a check anymore, I often make a mistake – just not used to writing them, or anything for that matter. I do grocery lists for the annual big shopping for Winter, but the rest of the time, it is the same old stuff, so I don’t and I’m the only one who reads them.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I love drying apples and Honeycrisp are my absolute favorite!! I like drying jackfruit too – it has the consistency of a Twizzler and tastes like Juicy Fruit gum! What a sweet letter and I’d never heard of Lovefeast! Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment