How To Make Them Wonder Why You’re Still Smiling

Meditations in Motion

One of the things I miss most about the way life used to be before the pandemic is the frequent encouragement and inspiration I got from my friends.

I am fortunate to know some remarkable, spirited women, some through running, some from other areas of my life.

I have been thinking recently about a friend I haven’t seen for a while.

Years ago, the two of us had many adventures together.

This friend, I’ll call her Beth, is a big woman. By “big“, I mean, she is tall, she is imposing, and she is brash. Beth is a take-charge kind of person, a natural leader and an excellent judge of character.

Beth always says exactly what is on her mind. In no uncertain terms.

She is also one of the most generous, compassionate, brilliant, and caring people I know. She laughs easily and loudly. Her eyes cloud when she hears tales of injustice. She has a soft spot in her heart for children and animals.

A male acquaintance once asked me what I saw in Beth, why I associated with her so often.

Puzzled, I wondered aloud why he asked me that question.

She is such a b****,” was his reply.

I closed my mouth, which had fallen open at his response, and stalked away, unable to think of a good comeback, so complete was my shock.

It’s not easy to be a strong woman.

We deceive too many Deborahs into believing they are Jezebels.

Meditations in Motion
Photo credit: Wikipedia

A little background: Deborah, a prophet, priestess, warrior, and judge, is one of the most influential women in the Bible. She was a wise, strong leader of Israel in her time and settled disputes between fractious Israelites.

Jezebel, the wife of Ahab, was a queen of Israel. Among other things, she ordered the death of several Old Testament prophets and arranged for an innocent man to be executed. She was the female embodiment of wily pride, cruelty, and selfishness.

Meditations in Motion

Here are three ways we tell Deborahs they are Jezebels.

  1. Apparently, it is women’s fault when men behave badly. Unless we are swaddled from head to toe, men are, you know…extremely visual. They can’t be held accountable for their actions, poor dears. 1 Thessalonians 4:4 “that each of you should learn to control your own body” is apparently aimed solely at women. Modesty, girls.
  2. Women accepting leadership positions in business, civic organizations, politics, and even the church is emasculating. Any woman with power must be bitter, angry, manipulative, devious, and a feminist. A Jezebel, in other words.
  3. Sexist slurs refer almost exclusively to women. One study found 2.9 million tweets per week that contained “gendered insults” such as “slut“, “whore“, and others too reprehensible to print. This bullying and harassment is aimed almost exclusively at women. I can’t think of even one male sexist slur. We don’t tolerate racist slurs (I hope), we should not tolerate sexist ones either.

Let’s teach women that modesty is more than what you wear, it’s an attitude we all should aspire to, that having more strong female leaders isn’t threatening, it’s freeing, and that using hurtful words aimed at women matters.

Let’s not confuse Deborah with Jezebel.

Let’s make them wonder why we’re still smiling.

I look forward to the day when women with leadership and insight, gifts and talents, callings and prophetic leanings are called out and celebrated as a Deborah, instead of silenced as a Jezebel.Sarah Bessey

 

You can find the places I link up here.

Please click on the following link to read more funny or inspirational one-liners. One-Liner Wednesday.

Meditations in Motion

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

36 comments

  1. I read Sarah Bessey’s Jesus Feminist last year and liked her thoughts. She makes sense, as does the idea of being a Deborah not a Jezebel. As for anyone ever calling me a bitch, I smile and remind that b*tches get things done. Like a Deborah. Seems to shut up the naysayers.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I read Jesus Feminist last year too and liked it. I just finished “Miracles and Other Reasonable Things” by Sarah Bessey and liked that one too. I love your response to being called a b****!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Just as it is easy for some portions of this current society to point fingers at others and yell, “homophobe, racist, xenophobe, etc.,” name calling should be condemned in Christian circles. We are all human beings, male and female, created in God’s image. We can choose evil, yes, but we are also free to choose good, with God’s help. May we quit judging and start loving.
    Blessings, Laurie!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. What a great comparison! I knew about both Biblical women, but I have never thought of comparing the two in that way. That is genius!
    Thank you, I will make use of that whenever such a discussion comes up in the future.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. We (men) must do better. I had the pleasure of working with strong capable women for over 40 years. There were a few deserving of the B-word, but way more men deserving of the (there actually are several, but I’ll spare you).

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Whoa boy, am I glad I clicked on your link! Love this, Laurie. I have a Beth in my life — bold, unapologetic, speaks her mind — and I know she’s been called a bitch and worse. Makes me think of someone’s penchant for “nasty” as an insult. As if there’s even an iota of us that care what he considers nasty.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you for the comment, Laura. I think we all can relate to hearing strong women disparaged and called names. It’s time to make this stop!

      Like

    • I was so flustered I didn’t know how to react. My eyes filled up with tears and I did NOT want that guy to see me crying! It was terrible.

      Like

  6. We should all have a Beth or a Deborah in our life – strong women rule. I have become a much stronger woman as I have gotten older and was a bit of a milquetoast in my late teens/early 20s. Assertive is a good word, and a good way to be – if you can get away with it and with no name-calling, that is.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Funny enough, I have a Beth in my life. She held me up–literally, in her arms with her 6′ frame– at one of the weakest moments in my life. And she celebrated me when I was ready to fight for myself, and others, again. We are so close that my husband often says that, when she’s in the room, it’s like he doesn’t exist! And it’s true. She has a grounding effect on me unlike anyone else. Anybody can call it what they want. I call her Anchor.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment