It’s Spring Fever That Makes My Heart Ache

Meditations in Motion
Wood Frog. Photo credit: Wikipedia

My hubby Bill and I went to a wetland in the woods near a trout stream today to listen for the first frog calls of the year.

Usually, the first calls we hear are the shrill chorus of  “pee-eeep“s made by the diminutive tree frogs bearing an “X” on their backs, the Spring Peepers.

Field guides tell us to listen for the first Spring Peepers after the first warm rain in March.

Today certainly was warm (mid-70s) but there was no rain, so instead of peepers, we heard the clucking sound of wood frogs, the handsome masked frogs who breed in vernal pools each spring.

Rain is in the forecast for tomorrow. Maybe then we will hear the peepers’ trill.

Meditations in Motion

I am a collector of firsts in the spring. First crocus, first frog calls, first forsythia blooms, first skunk cabbage, first robins, first butterflies. On our run yesterday, I saw my first tree swallow of the year, perched on a telephone wire near the high school.

Every year, I tell myself to remain calm, composed, and serene during the first heady days of spring and every year, I fail miserably.

I fling my windows open, stay outside until dark, and return home with wood chips in my hair.

Bill knows to tread lightly in the spring. I go through the house like a dervish, cleaning, polishing, discarding. I register for races and plan trips to exotic locales.

With glittering eyes and wild, uncombed hair, I tend to go on wild flights of fancy, making outlandish plans and setting impossible goals.

Patience, restraint, I tell myself to no avail.

I want to run and dance and twirl in the spring, even though I am much too old for twirling.

Mark Twain understood my affliction and had this to say about it “It’s spring fever. That is what the name of it is. And when you’ve got it, you want—oh, you don’t quite know what it is you do want, but it just fairly makes your heart ache, you want it so!

After the long, dark days of winter, I think Mr. Twain must have listened for and rejoiced in the first frog calls of spring too.

A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones. Proverbs 17:22

 

You can find the places I link up here.

Please click on the following link to read more funny or inspirational one-liners. One-Liner Wednesday.

Meditations in Motion

 

 

 

 

 

 

72 comments

  1. I’m pretty sure you aren’t much too old for twirling. Even though people claim that we don’t have REAL seasons here in SoCal, we do… they are just more subtle. Spring is bursting out all over here too. We are having a few days of much needed rain and the plants are doing a happy dance (or, maybe they are twirling, not sure). Enjoy all of your firsts!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Perfect ode to Spring! (As it used to be for me,. Because nowadays since we winter in Florida, I don’t notice the change as much (and I admit I miss it a bit). But that’s the trade off for not having a cold wet dreary winter!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. First forsythias! So yellow and bright! They bloom in the most surprising corners, joyfully announcing spring.
    I like your idea of collecting firsts – it makes us more aware of the changes in nature. I hope to catch some spring when I go back to Switzerland at the end of March.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The signs of spring are around us here too, in north county Dublin, Ireland, but the biting wind has taken the edge off that optimistic swing into spring. Still, anything that directs the gaze outwards is good, I reckon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, Enda, I just got information about a trip to Ireland. We would like to start in the outskirts of Dublin and walk to Clonegale, staying at B&Bs along the way. It would be heaven to do that in spring! But maybe late spring. Walking in gale force winds does not seem appealing! 🙂

      Like

  5. I’m a cautious soul in spring.
    My good husband is rejoicing over the temps we have been seeing: forties, even fifties…
    Bah Humbug, says the cynical wife. Remember the April blizzard of 1991?
    I’m holding the promise of spring loosely!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Now that I wear hearing aids (4 years) I’m always shocked by the racket of the spring peepers (and the crickets later in the year). We have a little swamp where our sump pump drains and it makes a nice habitat.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. First of all, you’re never too old to twirl! I was thinking along these same lines yesterday when I was running and it was a gorgeous spring day and the frogs were singing in the wetlands. I love this time of year!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. The giddiness of Spring in a four-season state is like nothing else on earth. I know the feeling – also the first day you steps aside and the neighborhood is awash in green. I have always liked Mark Twain and like the Spring fever quote, but especially liked this one you shared Laurie:
    “A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.” Proverbs 17:22

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I love those first signs of spring too! Here, the weather is temperamental so even when the good weather comes there’s no guarantee it will last, but I do enjoy making the most of those days that are brighter and warmer and it feels like winter might be coming to an end!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh yes, I can relate to that feeling of Spring fever too and wanting to go wild. Spring was always my favourite season although I struggle with it now because of all the reminders of the last few weeks of Jessica’s life and how she longed so for Spring which was late in coming that year and finally arrived on the day she died. But I try and enjoy all the little signs of Spring too because she loved them so much and I know she would want me to. How lovely to listen out for the frog calls at the start of Spring. I would love to do something like that – I’ll have to find out where best to go! #WotW

    Liked by 1 person

  11. You & me both friend… I LONG for Spring like no other season so just the smallest hints of it & I’m breaking out the sandals & ready to pop open windows & pull out back yard furniture to sit & read all night long…. & then it snows 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. You & me both friend… I LONG for Spring like no other season so just the smallest hints of it & I’m breaking out the sandals & ready to pop open windows & pull out back yard furniture to sit & read all night long…. & then it snows 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I love spring too. I’ve never thought of it, but I’m a collector of firsts too. Our toads are on the move, at the moment, and fun to spot. I’m not so quick off the mark on the cleaning though, but definitely outside enjoying it all. Enjoy your planning and whirling. Good for the soul. #wotw

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, I would love to see the toads moving! I still have a lot of cleaning to do. I threw open the windows today for the first time. It felt wonderful to have fresh air circulating again!

      Like

Leave a comment